Innovation Award for Dr. Marcus Rose and Dr. Rebecca Engel

  Record presentation Andreas Schmitter During the RWTH transparent event, Professor Malte Brettel, Vice-Rector for Business and Industry, presented the winning teams with the award certificates.

The RWTH Aachen Innovation Award was presented for the third time. The award recognizes projects that strongly contribute to the standing of the Aachen region as a hub of science and innovation.

The third-place winners are Dr. Rebecca Engel and Dr. Marcus Rose from the Institute of Institute of Technichal und Macromolecular Chemistry, headed by Professor Regina Palkovits. Their innovation is titled “IsohexAmin – A technology for the production of biomass-based amines". A catalytic process makes it possible to produce amines from sugar alcohol and ammonia, whereby water can be used as a solvent. The increased availability of biomass-based amines provides a boost to the production of polymers from renewable resources.

Further Informations about the prize ceremony and the winners are available here.